Maricopa Association of Governments
2012 Best Practices on Domestic Violence Arrest and Prosecution Policies Summary

“Best practices”

States using “best practices”

Impacts resulting from “best practices”

Research sources

Arrests

1. Repeal mandatory arrest policies for
pro-arrest or officer discretion policies.
Note: AZ has “Mandatory /Discretionary
language: An officer shall arrest where
infliction of physical injury or involving
the discharge, use or threatening exhibition
of a deadly weapon or dangerous
instrument. Otherwise, discretionary.”
(ABA Commission on DV)

* Maryland: (Md. Crim. Proc. § 2-204 (A)(1), (A)(2),
and (B); Ann sec. 10-103 § 5-202 (e)

Arrest is at the officer’s discretion if probable cause
of abuse or evidence of an injury and the person may
flee, cause further injury/damage or destroy evidence.

Warrantless arrests only valid if a police report was
made 48 hours of the incident.

* Minnesota: (Minn. Stat. Ann. § 629.341 Subd.1, §
609A.01-03, § 609.2242-2243)

Discretionary warrantless arrest valid if the officer
has probable cause that within the previous 24 hours
the suspect committed domestic abuse.

* Reduces “dual arrests” rates.

* Research shows that states with discretionary
policies have a lower homicide rate (U.S.
Department of Justice).

* Arrests were less likely to result in conviction
if made in a state with a mandatory arrest law
as opposed to a state with a discretionary arrest
law (U.S. Department of Justice).

* In mandatory arrest agencies, with other
factors held constant, the odds of arrest in
intimate partner incidents increase by 97%
compared to discretionary arrest agencies. In
preferred arrest agencies the increase is even
higher: about 177%. (U.S. Department of
Justice).

1. Wider Opportunities for Women (WOW),
Economic Security for Survivors Project: Policy
Brief, October, 2012. Arrest Policy and Survivors:
The report discusses the unintended effects of
arrest policies on survivor safety and economic
security and provides recommendations for best
practices, including the three state innovative
policies.

Key Findings:

* VAWA 2005 reauthorization changed language
from “mandatory arrest” to “pro-arrest.”

* Mandatory arrest states have a domestic homicide
rate around 50% higher than discretionary states.

* Convictions are 60% less likely in states with
mandatory arrest laws. Mandatory arrests often
fail to end in convictions.

* New Hampshire: (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 594:10
(D(B), § 173-B:9, §651:5)

Warrantless arrest is at the officer’s discretion if
probable cause exists that in the previous 12 hours the
person committed an abuse, including domestic
violence.

2. Explaining the Prevalence, Context, and
Consequences of Dual Arrest in Intimate Partner
Cases: Report by the U.S. Department of Justice,
2007
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2. Discourage dual arrests - Use
primary aggressor policies.

Dual arrests are significantly increased due
to mandatory arrest policies.

Arrest appears on criminal record even
without a conviction creating barriers to
housing, employment, restitution, crime
victim compensation, protection orders,
and reduced credibility.

Create primary aggressor policies. These policies
direct officers to verify who the “real” offender is and
often include exceptions for self-defense.

They currently exist in 24 states, including New
Hampshire and Maryland, and in 44% of law
enforcement agencies in states without them
(National Institute of Justice).

* New Hampshire: (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 594:10
(D(B), § 173-B:9, §651:5)

Directs that police should arrest the primary aggressor
and set guidelines for them.

* Maryland: (Md. Crim. Proc. § 2-204 (A)(1), (A)(2),
and (B); Ann sec. 10-103 § 5-202 (e¢)

Instituted a policy of determining the primary
aggressor to reduce dual arrests.

* The laws reduced dual arrest rates by 75%.

* Mandatory arrest policies significantly
increase dual arrests rates, but preferred arrest
laws do not (National Institute of Justice).

1. Making arrests in domestic violence cases:
What police should know. In Short: Toward
Criminal Justice Solutions. Hirschel, D. (2009).
Washington, DC: National Institute of Justice.

2. Explaining the Prevalence, Context, and
Consequences of Dual Arrest in Intimate Partner
Cases: Report by the U.S Department of Justice,
2007

3. Security for Survivors Project: Policy Brief,
October, 2012 . Wider Opportunities for Women
(WOW), Economic.

Prosecution

3. Soften “No Drop” prosecution
(evidence-based prosecution) policies.
"Hard policies" dictate that prosecution
proceed regardless of the victim’s wishes
whenever there is sufficient evidence to do
so, while soft policies allow the victim to
drop out of the system under special
circumstances (e.g., there is reason to
believe that the violence will escalate if
she proceeds) (WOW).

* Minnesota: (Minn. Stat. Ann. § 629.341 Subd.1, §
609A.01-03, § 609.2242-2243)

* Maryland: (Md. Crim. Proc. § 2-204 (A)(1), (A)(2),
and (B); Ann sec. 10-103 § 5-202 (e)

* New Hampshire: (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 594:10
(D(B), § 173-B:9, §651:5

* “Hard” no-drop policies force the victim to
participate through subpoenas, warrants and
threats to hold her in contempt (National
Institute of Justice).

* Besides being personally disempowering,
these policies can reduce a survivor’s
willingness to report domestic violence if she is
dependent on him economically (Justice
Research and Policy).

* One study found that giving survivors the
option to drop charges resulted in lower abuser
recidivism and recurring abuse (National
Institute of Justice).

1. A comparison of two prosecution policies in
cases of intimate partner violence: Mandatory
case filing vs. following the victim’s lead.

O’Sullivan, C.S., Davis, R.C., Farole Jr., D. &
Rempel, M. (2007). Grant No. 2004-WG-BX-0009 .
Washington, DC: National Institute of Justice.

2. Effects of no-drop prosecution of domestic
violence upon conviction rates. Davis, R. C.,
Smith, B. E., & Davies, H. J. (2001) . Justice
Research and Policy, 3 (2), 1-13.
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» Consequences: expensive for criminal justice
system, impact survivors financially, reduce
likelihood of reporting domestic violence;
victim’s economic security may depend on not
prosecuting (WOW).

3. Arrest Policy and Survivors: Policy Brief,
October, 2012. Wider Opportunities for Women
(WOW).

4. Allow expungement for victims’
wrongfully arrested.

Expungement is the process of concealing
or sealing criminal records from the
public. Regardless of conviction, an arrest
remains on a criminal record and can
impede a survivor from retaining or
regaining economic security.

Currently, Arizona only allows
expungement for convictions of certain
types, not arrests ( Council for Court
Excellence).

* New Hampshire: (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 594:10
(D(B), § 173-B:9, §651:5

Free expungement for arrests not prosecuted or found
not guilty. If convicted of a non-violent crime, can
petition one, three, five or ten years after sentence

($100).
Other states using best practices: MD, NH.

* 36 states allow expungements for arrests.

* 24 allow expungements for convictions, AZ
included.

* 12 automatically seal records if all set conditions are
met (Council for Court Excellence).

* Expunging arrests reduces the chance that
survivors will be held back by a criminal
record (WOW).

1. Economic Security for Survivors Project: Policy
Brief, October, 2012 . Wider Opportunities for
Women (WOW).

2. Creating an expungement statute for the
District of Columbia: A report and proposed
legislation. Washington, DC : Council for Court
Excellence. McAdoo, L. (2006).
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Orders of

Protection

5. Expand eligibility for each type of
protection order to include minors
without a parent representative and
those unmarried, not living together and
without a child in common.

Under ARIZ. REV. STAT. §13-3601, the
following individuals are protected:

* Married couples.

* Previously married couples.

* Cohabitants and former cohabitants.

* Couples with a child in common.

* When a victim is pregnant.

* Those related by blood, court order or in-
laws.

¢ Those in a romantic or sexual
relationship (The Network For Public
Health).

* California: (PENAL CODE § 273.6 § 646.9 §

13701 § 136.2; Fam. Code §6324 § 6380; CIV.
PROC. CODE §527.8)

* Colorado: (COLO. REV. STAT. § 13-1-136, § 18-1-
1001, §19-2-707, § 16-3-402, § 18-6-803)
Standardized forms, created a statewide registry, and
consolidated procedures.

* New Jersey: (N.J. STAT. ANN. § 2C:25-30, §2C:251
13(b)(6); N.J. REV. STAT. § 2C:12-10.1, §2C:28-
5.2).

* Other States include NY.

* Only 33 states and the District of Columbia allow
victims of dating violence to file for a protection
order regardless of the nature of the relationship (The
National Center for Victims of Crime, 2005).

* One study reports that when policies change
to expand access, there was a 136% increase in
intimate partner female simple assault
victimization reports, which reflects, at least in
part, the change in the law (New York State
Office for the Prevention of Domestic
Violence).

* Protection orders are one of the readily
available resources for adult victims of
domestic violence, but teen dating violence
victims do not have the same access (The
National Center for Victims of Crime, 2005).

1. Expanded Access to Family Court in New York
State: A Report on the First Three Years of
Implementation of Chapter 326. New York State
Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence
December 20, 2011.

Key Findings: To better inform policy decisions
in this area. Major changes included: Expanding
the definition of —Domestic Relationship-Living
Status to include all persons who are currently, or
were previously, involved in a significant intimate
or dating relationship, regardless of whether or not
they ever lived together.

2. 2011 data report: Statewide case activity
summary. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Judicial Branch,
(2011). Key Findings:

* Arizona received 34,874 petitions for protection
in 2011, an increase of 1.6% from 2010.
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3. Injury Prevention: Domestic Violence and Same-
Sex Relationships Fact Sheet (The Network For
Public Health).

4. Dating Violence: Can Teens Access Orders of
Protection? Cheryl Green and Lara Murray
Mohlhenrich. The National Center for Victims of
Crime, 2005. Key Findings:

* Many dating violence victims are not protected
by domestic violence laws unless they have lived
with and/or have a child with the perpetrator. For
instance, many states limit access by restricting
eligibility to only partners who have a child in
common or have lived together.

* Most states also require that a parent or guardian
file the petition for a protection order on behalf of
the teen making it less likely that some teens will
choose this as an option for addressing the violence
in their lives.
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6. Enforcing Orders of Protection.
Under ARIZ. REV. STAT. § 13-3602: On
request of the plaintiff, each order of
protection that is issued by a municipal
court shall be served by the police agency
for that city if the defendant can be served
within the city. If the defendant cannot be
served within the city, the police agency in
the city in which the defendant can be
served shall serve the order. If the order
cannot be served within a city, the sheriff
shall serve the order.

New Mexico:

* Ensure that departmental standard operating
procedures are consistent with New Mexico
Department of Public Safety training standards.

If officers are at the scene of a domestic disturbance
and the protected party states that an Order of
Protection has been filed but not served, officers
should then serve the protected party’s copy to the
restrained party and an immediate arrest should be
made.

* Extend full faith and credit to all valid Orders of
Protection, including tribal orders.

» Take whatever steps are reasonably necessary to
protect the victim from further domestic abuse
whether or not the protected party’s order can be
validated at the scene (Mexico Attorney General’s
Office, 2009).

Massachusetts:

* GPS Tracking Legislation: gives authorities the
option of using tracking by global positioning
systems, or GPS, for those under protection orders.
Other states include Illinois (Chicago Tribune).

* While studies have shown that Orders of
Protection can be an effective means of
reducing domestic violence, they are

effective only so long as they are enforced.
(Mexico Attorney General’s Office, 2009).

* “Using GPS monitoring to enforce an order
of protection makes the order more than just a
piece of paper,” said Diane Rosenfeld, a
lecturer at Harvard Law School and a longtime
advocate of using GPS in domestic abuse
cases. “It’s a way of making the criminal
justice system treat domestic violence as
potentially serious. By detecting any escalation
in the behavior of a batterer, GPS can prevent
these unnecessary tragedies.” (NY Times).

1. Enhancing Enforcement of Orders of Protection
in New Mexico A Best Practices Guide for Law
Enforcement, Prosecution and Courts. New
Mexico Attorney General’s Office, 2009.

Key Findings: Best Practices in Action: When the
Protected Party Does Not Have a Copy of the
Order. What if the protected party does not have a
copy of the Order of Protection?

* Seek to verify the existence of an order.

* Verify protected party’s claim of an Order of
Protection through reliable and credible
information.

* Confirm through restrained party’s statement that
an Order of Protection exists.

* Determine whether there is probable cause to
believe that the restrained party has committed a
criminal offense.

* Arrest restrained party if appropriate under
enforcing jurisdiction’s law and notify issuing
authority of arrest.

* Refer protected party to appropriate court or
victim service agencies.

* Be aware that a physical copy of the order is not
required for enforcement.
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» Twelve other states have passed similar legislation
— most recently, Indiana and about 5,000 domestic
abusers are being tracked nationwide (NY Times).

* 22 states have passed the GPS Domestic Violence
Bill with another 6 in progress.

2. GPS may help enforce protective orders:
Chicago Tribune, 2008.

Key Findings: The bill requires those fitted with
GPS devices to pay their cost, estimated by several
in the GPS tracking industry at $10 to $25 a day
per person. Many states have a similar requirement
for electronic monitoring, including GPS, which is
in widespread use for sex offenders.

3. GPS tracking for domestic abuse offenders:
Wisconsin Reporter, 2011. Key Findings: GPS
monitoring legislation passed in Illinois, Indiana,
Michigan and Minnesota. Update on states passing
legislation available at
http://cindysmemorial.org/progress.php
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Enforcing Orders of Protection.
(Continued)

The following national report highlights best
practices states can use to effectively issue and
enforce orders of protection.

» Law enforcement officers should enforce protection
orders that are valid on their face. Officers
confronted with a protection order violation should
give primacy to the safety concerns and err on the
side of protection by enforcing the order if it is
appears valid. The defendant will have an opportunity
to challenge the validity of the order in subsequent
proceedings.

* If necessary, law enforcement officers should use all
available means to verify the existence and contents
of an order.

* Research indicates that vigorous prosecution
and significant sanctioning of abusers prevents
re-abuse.

* Because some victims rely so heavily on
protection orders as a principal tool for safety
during separation, inconsistent enforcement
may increase danger by creating a false sense
of security at the very time victims face
heightened separation violence.

* Protection orders are effective only when the
restrained party is convinced the order will be
enforced.

 Unequivocal, standardized enforcement of
court orders is imperative if protective orders
are to be taken seriously by the offenders they
attempt to restrain.

3. A Guide for Effective Issuance & Enforcement
of Protection Orders. National Council of Juvenile
and Family Court Judges.

Key Findings: Strategies for implementing best
practices:

* Enforce protection orders that appear to be valid,
including those containing remedies or protection
for parties that would not have been issued in your
home jurisdiction.

* Consult various sources to verify the existence of
a protection order including, but not limited to, the
National Crime Information Center (NCIC), local
or state registries/databases, issuing courts, and the
involved parties.

* [dentify other arrestable offenses, including those
related to custody and stalking, and arrest the
offender if probable cause exists and the officer
has arrest authority, regardless of whether an order
is found to exist.
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* In addition to arresting offenders for protection
order violations, law enforcement officers should
arrest for other applicable criminal offenses.

» Law enforcement agencies must ensure prompt and
effective service and enforcement of local protection
orders, as well as those from other jurisdictions,
including tribal protection orders.

» Law enforcement officers should use all available
means to seize firearms from offenders.

* Law enforcement management should demonstrate
leadership on protection order enforcement issues.

» Law enforcement agencies should collaborate and
coordinate with other community stakeholders
involved in responding to and preventing domestic
violence ( National Council of Juvenile and Family
Court Judges).

* Victims may actually refrain from seeking
justice system intervention if perpetrators
violate orders with impunity.

* Research concludes that swift and certain
sanctions most effectively deter perpetrators.
* A lackluster response risks signaling to the
victim and children that they are without
resources and to the perpetrator that he has
tacit permission to continue his abuse.

» How officers interact with victims will in
large part determine their willingness to seek
assistance in the future and to follow through
with criminal prosecution. (National Council of
Juvenile and Family Court Judges).

* Prioritize and streamline service of process and
enforcement

mechanisms. (1) Put in place a protocol for service
of protection orders. (2) Make service of protection
orders a priority for law enforcement agencies. (3)
Even where there is a specialized domestic
violence unit, all officers should serve orders as
soon as possible.

* Attempt to verify the existence of firearms
through dispatch and mobile data terminals while
en route to the scene.

* Establish mandatory, on-going domestic violence
training for law enforcement agency personnel,
contractors, and volunteers to take place at least
annually.

* Design protocols to support the presence of
community victim advocates at the scene of
alleged domestic violence incidents or to contact
advocates and advise them of the incidents
(National Council of Juvenile and Family Court
Judges).
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7. Verifying Orders of Protection.

* Colorado: (COLO. REV. STAT. § 13-1-136, § 18-1-
1001, §19-2-707, § 16-3-402, § 18-6-803)
Standardized forms, created a statewide registry, and
consolidated procedures for getting domestic
violence, elder abuse and stalking civil protection
orders. Other states include: CA.

* Statewide central registries help law
enforcement, prosecutors and judges make
educated decisions and provide much needed
data (Office for Victims of Crime).

* Several studies show that while the majority
of recipients observe a decrease in violence or
abuse, roughly half of all orders are still
violated (Carsey Institute).

* Many states also hold regular review hearings
for the courts to monitor compliance that
remove this responsibility from the survivor.
The number of economic relief violations
actually decreases when there are regular
compliance reviews (Office for Victims of
Crime).

1. Economic Security for Survivors Project: Policy
Brief, October, 2012 Wider Opportunities for
Women (WOW).

* Implement regular compliance review hearings
that victims are not required to attend.

2. Civil protective orders effective in stopping or
reducing partner violence: Challenges remain in
rural areas with access and enforcement. Durham,
NH: Carsey Institute. Logan, TK & Walker, R.
(2011).

3. Legal series bulletin 4: Enforcement of
protective orders . Office for Victims of Crime.
(2002).

8. Change renewal policies for Orders of
Protection.

Policies for obtaining renewals on Orders
of Protection currently require survivor to
face their abuser in court. This can result
in revealing her location and notification
being sent to abusers when Orders are
registered against them.

* Colorado: (COLO. REV. STAT. § 13-1-136, § 18-1-
1001, §19-2-707, § 16-3-402, § 18-6-803)

Permanent domestic violence orders are open
indefinitely or to the judge’s discretion.

* New Jersey: (N.J. STAT. ANN. § 2C:25-30, §2C:251
13(b)(6); N.J. REV. STAT. § 2C:12-10.1, §2C:28-
5.2)

California, Colorado and New Jersey have all
taken steps to protect both the physical and
economic security of survivors by giving
courts discretion to meet victims’ needs,
creating simpler processes for protection, and
keeping orders in effect longer than the
national average. Their policies also created a
centralized state registry and support
enforcement (WOW).

1. Economic Security for Survivors Project:
Policy Brief, October, 2012 : Key Findings: Wider
Opportunities for Women (WOW).

* Make Orders of Protection open indefinitely or
based on judge’s discretion, or do not require
victim to face her abuser in court to renew an
Order of Protection (CO, NJ).
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Victim Rights

9. Increase victim notification.

* Many states have adopted a new technology known
as VINELink. VINELink is the online version of
VINE (Victim Information and Notification

Everyday), the National Victim Notification Network.

This service allows crime victims to obtain timely
and reliable information about criminal cases and the
custody status of offenders 24 hours a day. Some
states have the ability to display this website in
Spanish (VineLink.com).

* There are currently 41 states that have implemented
Vine statewide. Currently in Arizona, only two cities
have implemented this technology: Glendale and
Tucson (VineLink.com).

* Provides searchable information on offenders
in many states who are currently in custody.

* Allows victims to register to receive email
notification about a change in an offender's
status (Office of Justice Program).

* Very often victims get short notice of a
release, but it is better than no notice at all. At
minimum, victims can flee and alert police if
they are being threatened and are in danger (A
Movement Against Domestic Violence).

1. Resources: Victim Law. Office of Justice
Program, 2012.

2. Domestic violence victims often unaware of
victim notification system . Maria DiBari, A
Movement Against Domestic Violence, 2012.

3. VineLink.com: Text Messages will be a future
option.

10. Raise awareness of economic
insecurity.

Arizona’s law states that the court "shall
not consider the economic circumstances
of the defendant in determining the
amount of restitution, but the court is
required to consider the economic
circumstances of the defendant in
specifying the manner of payment" (Office
for Victims of Crime).

Arizona: (ARIZ. CONST. art. II, § 2.1; ARIZ. REV.
STAT. § 13-804, § 13-603(c))

State crime victims’ rights constitutional amendment
specifies right to restitution.

Other States include: CA, MH, and WA.

* Economic security plays a vital role in a
survivor’s decision to leave an abusive
relationship. When supporting her family with
one income for the first time, she may be
unable pay for basic needs, relocation or health
care. Her options are further limited if she is
unemployed or has suffered years of economic
abuse.

* Shelters reported that 74% of victims stayed
with an abuser longer due to financial issues
(WOW).

1. Right to Restitution . Office of Justice Programs:
Office for Victims of Crime: State Law.

2. Economic Security for Survivors Project: Policy
Brief, October, 2012.Wider Opportunities for
Women (WOW): Key Findings:

* Survivors of gender-based violence may
experience financial consequences as a direct or
indirect result of abuse that can have a lasting
impact on their ability to recover from violence,
leave an abusive relationship, or become safe and
independent. As a result of intimate partner
violence, sexual violence and stalking, survivors
may experience:
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* Adopting policies and practices that secure
economic justice for survivors will not only
help them avoid immediate physical danger
and meet basic needs, but also open the door to
achieving lasting independence from the
offender (WOW).

* Those who are economically secure- who are
able to meet their basic needs and find stability
through savings and assets- are better able to
insulate themselves from harm. Ultimately, a
survivor‘s economic security is fundamental to
her physical safety (WOW).

* Dependency on the abuser to provide for them or
their family.

* Job loss or lost wages from time off to recover or
interference etc.

* Restitution is a court-ordered payment from the
offender to the victim. Policies should ensure they
are specific to survivors, broad, and regularly
ordered and enforced.

* Train law enforcement, prosecutors, court staff
and judges on how to assist with economic relief
for victims (i.e., If victim is ordered to vacate
shared housing, require abuser to pay for victim’s
new or existing housing).

Raise awareness of economic insecurity.
(Continued)

By enforcing economic relief provisions in Orders of
Protection:

* California: (PENAL CODE § 273.6 § 646.9 §
13701 § 136.2; Fam. Code §6324 § 6380; CIV.
PROC. CODE §527.8)

30 days minimum sentence for second violation of a
protection order.

Employers can seek a protective order for an
employee if threatened at work.

Other states include, NJ, CO.

* Orders can offer the support to leave a
relationship and be independent and safe.

* No contact orders allow a victim to keep
going to school or work and avoid relocating,
which protects her economic stability.

* Protection orders can provide financial
restitution for the costs of the crimes.

* Several studies show that while the majority
of recipients observe a decrease in violence or
abuse, roughly half of all orders are still
violated (WOW).

1. Legal series bulletin 4: Enforcement of
protective order s. Office for Victims of Crime.
(2002).

2. Economic Security for Survivors Project: Policy
Brief: Protection Orders and Survivors, October,
2012 Wider Opportunities for Women (WOW).
Key Findings:

« Safety is difficult to achieve and maintain in light
of the dependency and staggering cost abuse
creates.

* As the primary tool for securing physical safety,
protection orders must also account for a
survivor’s economic needs (Protection Orders and
Survivors, WOW).

Page 12 of 19




* All states offer orders with physical safety and
stay away provisions. Equally vital, many also
authorize various forms of specific economic relief
by statute.

* 35 states include child support and spousal
support.

« 27 states include possession or use of a car and
other personal property.

* 20 states include orders to continue rent
/mortgage payments or to provide alternative
housing.

* 18 states include restitution for medical expenses,
household bills, tuition, child care and other losses.

On-Scene |

nvestigation

11. Audio record victim’s statements.

The results for this appear to be mixed. Some
counties like Marin, San Diego, Ventura, and Santa
Clara Counties of California have adopted this policy.
Other states like Florida have adopted a combination
of audio and written as a best practice.

Audio-record all first statements taken at the
crime scene. Victim's spontaneous statements
may be admissible or victim's statements may
be admissible if you are investigating an
ongoing emergency (Marin County Police
Chiefs' Association).

Should the case proceed to prosecution, an
initial, incomplete written statement may be
used against the victim and increase the long
term trauma they may experience (Marin
County Police Chiefs' Association).

1. Uniform Marin County Law Enforcement
County Law Enforcement Protocol for the
Handling of Domestic Violence Cases . The Marin
County Police Chiefs' Association, 2012

2. Position Statement: Sexual Battery Victims’
Right to Review the Final Law Enforcement
Report and Provide a Statement : Florida Council
Against Sexual Violence, 201

12. Obtain secondary contact
information for victims.

Research has not revealed best practices for this topic.

Research has not revealed impacts of best
practices for this topic.

Research has not revealed research sources for best
practices on this topic.
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13. Improve reporting methods to
reduce ""missing disposition" in criminal
history records.

In a 2001 survey, half the States reported
that from 10% to over 50% of the arrests
recorded in State databases had no final
disposition indicating how the arrest was
resolved. These arrests that lack
dispositions, known as “open” or “naked”
arrests, create substantial problems for
time-sensitive background checks because
conducting the necessary research to
complete the record is often time
consuming, labor intensive, and costly.
The lack of comprehensive misdemeanor
arrest and disposition data has been
identified as a major deficiency in State
criminal history record systems.

Fourteen states estimated the number of unlinked
final court dispositions.

Sixteen states estimated the percentage of final court
dispositions in their files that could not be linked to
an arrest.

Minnesota and Indiana reported that half of their final
court dispositions could not be linked to arrest or
charging information.

Wisconsin, Kansas, and Pennsylvania reported that
between 30% and 40% of their final court
dispositions were unlinked.

In Michigan and Nebraska a quarter of their final
court dispositions had no link to arrest or charging
information.

The remaining nine States (Georgia, Maryland,
Montana, Nevada, New York, South Carolina,
South Dakota, Utah, and Virginia) reported that
10% or fewer of their final court dispositions
contained no arrest or charging information.

Some examples of court improvement projects
under National Criminal History Improvement
Program (NCHIP) include:

* Georgia, through its Superior Court clerks,
are entering protection order files populated
with images and NCIC data into its web-based
protection order registry. All relevant data are
sent to the National Protection Order File.

* South Carolina is conducting a joint initiative
between the South Carolina Law Enforcement
Division (SLED) and the South Carolina
Judicial Department (SCJD) to restructure the
system for delivery of dispositions from the
courts to the State Identification Bureau (SIB).

1. Improving Criminal History Records for
Background Checks U.S. Department of Justice,
Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice
Statistics Highlights, 2003.

2. Improving Access to and Integrity of Criminal
History Records U.S. Department of Justice,
Office of Justice Programs, 2005. Key Findings:
* Poor interagency communication contributes to
missing dispositions. Interagency communication
can be evaluated in three ways: (1) by the number
of days required for the court, law enforcement
agency, or corrections agency to report disposition
information to the repository (2) by the extent to
which criminal justice agencies rely on manual
systems rather than electronic systems to transmit
disposition information and research missing
dispositions. (3) by whether all criminal justice
agencies are fully aware of their reporting
requirements.
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In many States only suspects charged with
felonies are routinely fingerprinted, and
only their arrests are reported to the
repository for inclusion in a suspect’s RAP
sheet (U.S. Department of Justice Office
of Justice Programs).

The problem of missing dispositions in State criminal
history records is perpetuated in part because there is
no national consensus on how a missing disposition is
defined, measured, or researched by State agencies
(U.S. Department of Justice Office of Justice
Programs).

Plans include providing new Internet
connectivity for Clerks of Court and
Magistrates in each county and allowing direct
linkage of dispositions with records already in
SIB (Bureau of Justice Statistics, Department
of Justice, 2003)

* A leading reason why final dispositions are not
adequately linked to their associated arrests is
delay by the courts, law enforcement, and
corrections agencies in reporting disposition
information to repositories. States reported that
incomplete records prevented the State from
retrieving accurate domestic violence misdemeanor
information for background checks. These records
were incomplete for several reasons, including the
following:

* absence of a flag denoting domestic violence
misdemeanor.

* the age of the record.

* the lack of a final disposition.

* the lack of information about the victim-offender
relationship.

« the failure of arresting agencies and courts to
report the information promptly to the repository.
* agency procedures that do not require
fingerprinting misdemeanants.
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14. Accessing protective orders (orders
of protection) and release conditions in
the field.

In crisis situations, access to critical
protective order information helps parties
to stay safe, effectively respond to violent
situations, and prosecute offenders to the
fullest extent.

VINE Protective Order® (VPO) provides
criminal justice professionals with secure
access to the full continuum of protective
order process needs. When protective
order information is available and
accessible, community partners have the
information they need to hold offenders
accountable and do their jobs in supporting
victim safety.

« States currently using Vine Protective Order
Module include: Illinois, North Dakota, Maryland,
Kentucky.

For Sheriff and Dispatch: Drastic reduction
in inbound petitioner inquiries, pulling officers
away from immediate duties. Ability to
immediately update service of order and access
order information.

For Law Enforcement: Immediate access to
protective order information, conditions, and
expiration details.

Simple process to update the status of a
protective order when it has been served to the
respondent, automatically triggering a
notification to the registrant.

For Victims: Immediate notification upon
service of Temporary, Emergency, or Ex-parte
Protective Orders.

Immediately accessible order information via
phone and Web, 24-hour operator assistance;
resources and referrals.

Know when order is in effect and is being
violated.

1. Appriss - VINE Protective Order - Protective
Order Status and Information. Key Findings:

* VINE satisfies most states legislative
requirements for victim notification.

* Data - After a protective order is issued, VINE
Protective Order captures and stores the
information in a secure database.

* Registration - The petitioner can call the toll-free
VINE Protective Order line or search online any
time of day or night for the status of a protective
order and register for notification.

* Service - VINE Protective Order immediately
begins placing notification calls to the petitioner
once the service event is recorded.

* Notification - Petitioners will be notified when
the order is served and may be notified of court
hearings, amendments, order expirations, and other
case events.
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For Advocates: Immediate access to order
information for victim assistance via Web and
phone. Ability to register victims and
themselves for notification services via Web
application (Appriss).

* Provides judicial officers with 24-hour access to
orders of protection from any location and requires
no duplicate data entry, faxing, or redundant phone
calls.

2. VINE Protective Order gains momentum across
the nation: VINELines, October, 2006. Key
Findings:

* Funding for this new system can be accessed as
part of the Bureau of Justice Assistance Statewide
Automated Victim Information and Notification
(SAVIN) grants, Grants to Encourage Arrest, or
other VOCA and VAWA funding sources. Some
states have added legislation for protective order
notification, while others are looking to expand
their current VINE® funding to include VINE
Protective Order.

There is also a mobile app version
(Appriss VINE) with communication
features such as:

Inmate information - including name,
address, photo and specific charges. It is
fully integrated with VINE to allow victim
registration from their smartphone.
Active warrants related to:
Non-custodial parents.

Most wanted criminals.

Amber Alerts, escapes, community
emergencies, etc.

The Washington County Sheriff’s Office in Arkansas

was the first to begin using the app. In just six months

they’ve had more than 14,000 downloads.

For Sheriffs: Sheriffs can now communicate
directly to their community through their very
own mobile app. Appriss is helping sheriffs
launch the app, which is available FREE to
sheriffs’ offices that provide the VINE service.

For Citizens: Users download the app for free
(currently available at the App Store and
coming soon to the Android Market) and get
access to an impressive list of information,
including current inmate data (with photos), a
list of active warrants (such as non-custodial
parents and most wanted criminals) and
community emergencies (Amber Alerts,
escapes, etc.).

1. Appriss - VINE Protective Order - Customizable
Notification Methods and Case Management,
2012.
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VINE Court is a fully automated service
that keeps crime victims and criminal
justice professionals informed about the
progress of their cases.

States using Vine Court include: KY

Since VINE Courts began in Kentucky, more
than 3,700 registrations have been entered,
more than 107,000 online searches have been
conducted, and 332,000 inbound and outbound
phone calls have been made.

Department of Corrections, Kentucky.

VINE Court Service is a free, anonymous,
computer-based telephone and e-mail program that
provides victims of crime two important services
for upcoming court cases: Information and
Notification. This service is available statewide on
all misdemeanor and felony cases.

15. Using an interactive technology
system to provide access to evidence by
both law enforcement and prosecutors.

Queens County, New York: A partnership with the
New York City Police Department and technological
advancements further enhance prosecution efforts.
The Queens County District Attorney’s office began
using digital photography almost two years ago and is
currently the only District Attorney’s office in the
City to receive victim photographs digitally from the
NYPD. This same digital technology will be used for
911 calls and will allow prosecutors to listen to them
only hours after they have been made (The Queens
County District Attorney).

» Digital photography enables police to
automatically transfer photographs to a secure
telephone line in the District Attorney’s Office
to be used at arraignments and trial.

* Use of photographs and 911 call recordings
can hold accused offenders accountable by
allowing prosecutors to make strong bail
applications and to enhance their trial evidence.
* Has recorded one of the lowest dismissal
rates -- 19% — in the City for domestic
violence cases ( The Queens County District
Attorney).

New Technology Enhances Domestic Violence
Prosecutions in Queens County . Queens District
Attorney's Office, 2003.

Key Findings: The District Attorney said,
“Innovative approaches, technological advances,
aggressive vertical prosecution and open
communication with the Police Department are the
keys to our success in the prosecution of domestic
violence cases.”
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* New York: Domestic Incident Report Repository
offers law enforcement officials cross-jurisdictional
information about reported incidents of domestic
violence in the Upstate and Long Island counties.
Law enforcement are able to search for incident
information regardless of which police agency
responded to a call or filed a report.

* More than a dozen law enforcement agencies,
including the Erie County Crime Analysis Center
(CAC), have used the system to search approximately
244,000 records currently available.

* The Repository gives authorized users such
as police officers, sheriffs’ deputies,
prosecutors, and probation and parole officers
the ability to search domestic incident reports
filed by agencies in the 57 counties outside of
New York City; those agencies file
approximately 175,000 domestic incident
reports (DIRs) annually.

* Before the creation of this secure database,
those paper DIRs were typically filed
chronologically by the agency that took the
reports. The information contained in them
could not be searched, shared or analyzed
across jurisdictions. Now, the reports received
by the state are scanned and stored in a
database that is searchable by name and
address. The database can generate a summary
of all domestic violence activity at a specific
location, including the number of reports filed
and if there are any “red flag” indicators such
as threats that were made and/or access to a
weapon (New York State Division of Criminal
Justice Services).

1. New York State Launches Domestic Incident
Report (DIR) Repository . New York State
Division of Criminal Justice Services, 2011.

Key Findings:

* This new tool provides access to information
enabling local law enforcement to more safely
respond to calls, enhance the prosecution of
domestic violence crimes and improve the
supervision of offenders on parole and probation.
In doing so, it allows for better protection of
domestic violence survivors.

* The Repository provides access to information
that can provide the detail for establishing patterns
of behavior, allowing prosecutors to build stronger
cases and hold offenders accountable.
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